Do blind people dream?

While driving on my lunch break today I had the most random thought. “Do blind people dream”? So when I got to work I researched it and found this interesting.

blindfolded

Q:Do blind people dream? If they do, can they “see” in their dreams?
– Anjali Sharma (age 14)
Leaside High, Toronto, Ontario, CanadaA:Anjali –

I considered answering your question myself, but decided that you might prefer an answer straight from the source. So I passed your question on to my friend, Laurie, who has been blind since she was fairly young. Here’s what she had to say:

” Yes, blind people do dream. What they see in their dreams depends on how much they could ever see. If someone has been totally blind since birth, they only have auditory dreams. If someone such as I, has had a measure of sight, then that person dreams with that measure of sight. I still dream as though I can see, colors included. For people I’ve met since, their faces are just blurs or how I imagine they look. To me, someone like my mother looks forever 30. ”

Thanks Laurie!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

